Many farewells :)

What is the most fun part about leaving? All the farewell parties!!

I was lucky enough to have my farewell parties in 3 countries.

/ Netherlands

I ended up inviting about 20 people in my house and the turn up ratio was even better + 30 people! Since I am a Fin the party people enjoyed a lot of snacks and indeed yet again a lot of alcoholoc drinks. I do have the feeling that in this blog alcohol will play a major part. Along side food. Which one is healthier. You tell me? As a word of advice/warning. Organize these type of events at least a week before departure 😉 

After packing up, organizing storage for my stuff, etc boring things on the 15.2.2015 I flew to Helsinki; my hometown.

/ Sweden

Epic weekend and celebration/reunion. With 3 friends we met up saturday morning only to discover 1 was missing. A quick wake up call and a fast taxi driver our group was complete. Destination – Stockholm! In Stockholm we met up with another friend to complete our group of 5. After some local food (gyros with mythos beer) we started our way towards the Viking Line terminal for a 20H cruise Stockholm-Mariehamn-Stockholm.

If you know anything about these cruises then you know this: It’s not about the destination but about the journey. This was my first experience with a boat load of Swedes and the experience was very similar to a boat full of Finns.

These cruiseships are huge and I warmly recommend the 2 day cruise Helsinki-Stockholm-Helsinki or the other way around. The ships include several restaurants, shopping, bars, Discos and other fun things.

Picture of the party people during festivities

image

Level of drunkness: EPIC
Random people hooking up and ending up in one of their cabins: A LOT
Good food and lot of different alcoholic drinks, yes SIR!
Minimum amount of sleep. But of course.
Private SAuna for the morning. I think I dont need to explain further 🙂

image

THe way back proved to mbe interesting since its only 1 hour flight to Helsinki but we had a 3 hour delay which meant a lot more drinking at Arlanda Airport.

The trip certainly didnt disappoint! As a cherry on top I turned 32 during the weekend. Getting older is a lot of fun, eh? 🙂   

/ Finland

My last week in Finland before flying a nice little route of Helsinki-Amsterdam-Paris-Kuala Lumpur was filled with farewells.

I will make a separate post for the readers to see what to do in Helsinki and what I did with my last week “at home”. Home is a funny concept since after living 5 years in the Netherlands and renting out my flat I will be homess until November this year. What a freedom to travel with only a small luggage and nothing more. EXCITING, I feel the freedom already 🙂

If you want to read my old blog which is certainly a work of art and written as a diary you can check it here
http://eijaksa.blogspot.nl

For my own bio check here
https://lassiw83.wordpress.com/traveler-lankinen/

/Lassi

Standard

Leave a comment