Planning the Matka – Journey

A bit of warning for the beginning. This post is a bit boring and mainly informational. Readers advice recommended 😉

The most important item for your travel. Backpack! I consulted travel books and sites and a fellow blogger you can check the links and check who the person is from the previous blog post (it’s a funny story how we know each other 🙂 I might tell you later! Just keep on following the blog) I decided on tortuga see below the full meal deal with all my belongings for 8 months. I have used packing cubes and also water proof packing cubes.

image

I will travel light. Only with what I can fit into this carry on  sized wonder. All the rest of my items for the travel I purchased from 2 shops, amazon and a shop in my hometown Utrecht called Kathmandu. If you are interested in the full list of items I am brining just shoot me an email lassiw83@hotmail.com or comment below on this post.

image

One of the most important inspiration for this journey comes from Riku and Tunna. They are the hosts for the excellent travel series Madventures. They have also written a book (I read it in Finnish) which is a very handy guide for all wannabe travelers.

The series is with a lot of humor and should not be missed by anyone planning to travel no matter where you are from.

DECIDING THE DESTINATIONS:
First of all. You have friends. We all have. Keep in tocuh with them 🙂 Leverage facebook. And its easy to make new ones too while you are traveling. When deciding where to travel I made the following shortlist

– Where can I meet my existing friends
– What cultures and countries I find interesting
– Budget
– Ease of Travel

I ended up deciding on Asia. Other options from the budget perspective would have been South America and Africa. But looking at the shortlist above. My decision was finally easy. My travel budget is max 30euro per day including all costs. This should be achievable by traveling smartly.

Accommodation
– Hotwire.com
– Air BnB
– Couchsurfing
– Hostels
– Friends

Transportation
– Use search engines such as scyscanner, look at offers from all airlines and join their mailing lists. Join all miles programs (one world, Star alliance, Flying blue etc)
– Buy in advance. For example in Japan you can save a ton of money by buying a JR Rail Pass before arrival

Food
– Eat Local
– Eat street food
– Get someone else to pay your alcohol 🙂

Post by
https://lassiw83.wordpress.com/traveler-lankinen/

Standard

One thought on “Planning the Matka – Journey

Leave a comment